• Review Beachviewcottages Gannet and Fulmar Cottage “Brilliant in every way” Reviewed October 2, 2013
    We have stayed in both Gannet and Fulmar Cottages and cannot find enough words to say what wonderful holidays we have had there. Where to start.... The most welcoming of hosts, the comfiest beds, beautiful views from the large siting room windows. Excellent facilities including sauna and jacuzzi, underfloor heating. There are walks to suit all abilities right on the doorstep along with four beaches to choose from. Eating was never a problem with Croft 36 delivering delicious meals to the cottage or you can wander down to the bottom of the drive and pick up freshly made bread and home grown vegetables from their 'shop'. As well as a couple of restaurants further afield. On our stays we have encountered various wildlife, including a few encounters with a golden eagle. We even helped to rescue a minke whale from the natural harbour at Leverborough, while we were out kayaking with the owners son, Bart, who runs an Outdoor activity centre. The hosts Jan and Suzan could not be more welcoming or helpful and we enjoyed many an evening in their company, particularly enjoying the weekly evening on the beach with a big fire toasting marshmallows and our good health!! Could not recommend a better place to stay.

  • Fulmar Cottage was better than we could possibly have imagined. Reviewed September 29, 2013
    From the very first correspondence by email with the owners Suzan and Jan Visser, we could tell that they cared passionately about their guests' stay. They were so warm and welcoming from the outset.
    We were met when we arrived by Jan Visser who patiently showed us every aspect of the cottage and how everything functioned. This is so important with a self catering stay, so that you understand the tv controls, heating etc straightaway.
    The bathrooms were exactly what you need after a windy day on the beach or in the hills. We have three children and each afternoon when we returned home we had a whole family bathtime session, some of us in the steam/jet massage shower, others in the jacuzzi bath, others in the sauna - all of us listening to the music piped out of the shower unit - great fun!
    The bed was probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in; waking up in a room with windows looking up to the hills where golden eagles soar was really so magical.
    The views from the sitting room are breathtaking - whatever the weather and this changes so quickly, you could be entertained for a whole day just watching the sky change. Jan and Suzan strike the perfect balance of being there to help and advise but also leaving you to enjoy your time as a family. Suzan gave our 10 and 6 year olds art lessons one afternoon - introducing them to the colour mixing wheel and painting with oils at our dining table looking out over the sea!
    We hired bikes (tag alongs and trailers too) for the whole family from Harris Outdoor and wanted to go out kayaking/sailing with them, but the sea wasn't quite calm enough for our 3 year old. Bart who owns Harris Outdoor is a fount of knowledge about the island - he's also one of Harris's lifeboat men, so you feel in extremely competent hands.

    Our days were spent playing in the waves on the many beaches, (make sure you know which beaches are safe at which times as the currents can be super strong) swimming on the calmer beaches - eg Seilebost, collecting shells, fishing off the rocks for pollack/mackerel, walking in the hills (recommend getting in touch with the guided walk with Jeff Edwards at Leverburgh for the Golden Eagle walk), cycling around the island, ordering lobster from the fishmonger who's outside the Co-op each Thursday at Leverburgh, picking up tasty ready meals at Croft 36 honesty shack (literally at the end of the cottage's drive!), or just simply lying on the bed or the super comfy sofas/chaise longue staring out at the most beautiful scenery you've ever seen! It is a very special place.

  • Review Grandfathers House - "Lovely cottage!" 26 sept 2013
    For our honeymoon in February this year we stayed at Grandfathers House which is a lovely romantic cottage with a cosy atmosphere. After a good walk at the beach, which is just a five minutes walk away, we enjoyed a bottle of bubbles in front of the fire. GFH is decorated with love, well equipped and the bed comfortable. Jan and Suzan are very welcoming hosts, we could not have had a better honeymoon.

  • Review Gannet and Fulmar Cottage -- "A little piece of heaven.....idyllic" 23 September 2013
    One week in this beautiful village, staying in the luxurious 'Gannet' cottage and my family and I were hooked and heartbroken to leave. With beautiful white beaches, mountains, breathtaking scenery and wildlife galore, never a dull moment was had and there were certainly not enough hours in the day! Whilst not forgetting to mention the clear starry nights - an astronomers delight! There was no shortage of quality fresh food from hidden treasures such as Croft 36 and The Temple Cafe and a 10 minute drive to Leverburgh provided further options. Jan and Suzan couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful and their beautiful cottage decorated with gorgeous artwork is a credit to them. I can't recommend or praise the cottage, destination and holiday enough. See you next year!!
    Review Beachviewcottages Gannet and Fulmar Cottage - "Wow! Words cannot describe that view"
    We booked Fulmar cottage at Christmas, based on the reviews posted before. This is a really special place. The cottage is warm, well equipped and comfortable. The steam shower, and the sauna are a first for us in a holiday cottage. The hosts are kind, and welcoming. They have provided an extensive library of information about the Island and its history. Jan told us about special places to visit. The beaches, within walking distance are spectacular, and the view is so incredible, I found myself just standing and staring for hours. Suzan offers painting lessons. I was a bit worried about asking, being a bit of a novice, but she is an excellent teacher, and it brought a non threatening, new focus to the week.
    Harris is quite beautiful, particularly the beaches in the south. Everyone we met was welcoming, and friendly. A really memorable week, in a really special place! We loved it. Thank you.

  • Review Grandfathers House - "Sublimely relaxing and inspiring, with a warm welcome!" 1 Sept 2013
    What a superb little refuge from the real world!
    Harris is stunning and Grandfathers cottage was a fantastic base from which to explore. Its is homely comfortable and warms. A perfect place to rest up during one of those fleeting storms they get up there, and a welcome place to return to after a bit of a walk.
    Jan and Suzan are perfect hosts - with busy lives themselves, but attentive and friendly and always enjoying a chat.
    They have put a lot of their personality into the cottage and what you get is a modern, stylish and extremely well equipped place to stay.

    Book it while you can!

  • Review Grandfathers House -"Very relaxing" 2 aug 2013
    We stayed for two weeks in this cozy, fully equipped cottage. We enjoyed the pleasant weather, sun and wind, within walking distance of unsurpassed beaches (so empty). Every day we went for a latte at The Temple Cafe overlooking the bay (also within walking distance). And bought fresh seafood from the self service shop Croft 36, just across the street. The hospitality of Jan and Suzan was wonderful, we felt at home. At Harris Outdoor Adventure we rented mountainbikes to discover Harris. Also the sea kayaking was a unforgettable experience. A place to return!

  • Review Kilda House - "Fantastic, charming and unique house in a great location" 28 June 2013
    Fantastic, charming and unique house!
    We enjoyed a lovely week here in Harris. The location of the house is fantastic, very near to the amenities of Leverburgh (supermarket, petrol, post office etc) and the Anchorage pub is within walking distance. It also has beautiful views out of the front and a contained garden at the rear.
    The house itself is quirky and fascinating. The owners have put their heart and soul into decorating it in a unique way, with a lot of talented painting in evidence, which must be seen to be fully appreciated. Otherwise, the house has great facilities with everything you need for a holiday and quality kitchenware, which is always appreciated!
    The house is very well presented and was spotlessly clean.
    All in all, thanks very much, we have recommended to our family who are hoping to book up soon!

  • “Artists' paradise!” Reviewed 19 June 2012, Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
    Having just return from a week of wall to wall sunshine on Harris I am thrilled to review Fulmar Cottage and give a hearty 5 stars! The welcome by Suzan and Jan was an example of what was to follow a week of kindness and comfort! While a little windy to actually paint large canvasses outside the spectacular views from the sitting room and an ever changing light was inspirational.
    Suzan herself offered informal art classes to some of our group which we all enjoyed and learnt a lot!
    The accommodation was comfortable and well appointed and very well equipped. As a hamlet, Northton has superb facilities including fresh eggs and a daily bread maker at the bottom of the drive. The lady also offers a home delivery meal service, the seafood thermidor being a speciality.
    We are already planning our return, I feel a cosy winter break coming on!“Artists' paradise!” Reviewed 19 June 2012 NEW, Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom

  • “Nothing's perfect but Fulmar and Gannet are close” Reviewed 16 June 2012, Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
    We rented both Fulmar and Gannet cottages for a week at the start of June. When we arrived we were greeted by Jan and Suzan, who spent the next half hour introducing us to the cottages and the local area, quite refreshing as often when you arrive at a cottage the keys are in the door and you never meet anyone!
    You will spend at least 3mins staring at the view out the window to the front of the cottages (we were there for at least 5 but it was a lovely day!) so wear comfortable shoes on arrival!
    Location excellent (someone said it was a drive to the beach, only if you are old or lazy), cottages excellent, croft 36 has great produce for sale and meals that they will prepare and deliver, 2 mins drive to shop at Leverburgh and a cafe along the road which provides for both veggies and meat eaters alike.
    Book at beachview if you like good weather, hill walking, wildlife spotting (we saw a porpoise, golden eagle, many bird species, seals and a wire haired German pointer) and obviously the second to none beaches. Beautiful place with friendly people!

  • “Gannet Cottage is a must if you want to spoil yourself and enjoy fantastic views”Reviewed 10 June 2012, Chepstow, United Kingdom
    We stayed at Gannet cottage in May for one week and were warmly welcomed by Jan, Suzan and their daughter. The cottage was beautifully clean, spacious and decorated to a high standard including amazing artwork by Suzan herself of the sea life on Harris. I would definitely recommend a stay here. There is no need to repeat what the cottage offers in terms of relaxation i.e. sauna etc as others have written this. The view is amazing. You have easy access to 4 beaches which we all enjoyed, lovely places to eat and art galleries.
    Jan and Suzan are there whenever you need them (our car broke down and they were very very helpful indeed buying us milk etc as we could not get to a shop) We recommend this 100%
    Thank you

  • “A trip of a lifetime!”Reviewed 1 June 2012 , Vancouver, Canada
    What better place for a reunion with family! We travelled from Vancouver, Canada to Edinburgh to reunite with our son and daughter-in-law and then go together to the Outer Hebrides not knowing what to expect....the experience was amazing! Fulmar cottage on the Isle of Harris is superb in all it offers. Suzan and Jan have thought of all the essentials plus so much more to make your stay comfortable and one of ease. Their hospitality and helpful knowledge about surrounding hikes and beaches and all that there is to see gives you a head start to exploring this amazing part of the different than any place we had ever been. "The beaches are the most beautiful he has have ever seen" a quote from our son who has travelled all over the world....the hikes in the hills, the many times a day of weather change just added to the experience. Walking through the hills along sheep trodden trails and along the white sand beaches to an old stone church that sits atop a cliff by the sea, we thought we heard the sound of bagpipes but wondered if it was just our fanciful imagination. As we continued and crested the brow of another hill there he was, a gentleman meandering along playing his bagpipes, what a perfect addition to the setting around us! Another day a beautiful rainbow arched over the whole village and ended behind one of the cottages in the village and we mused whether this place was truly the sought after "pot of gold!" The cottage view from the large windows, the deluxe well thought out facilities, the small but extremely informative museum close by, the fixings for dinner almost at your doorstep at Croft 36 where they respect your honesty and allow you to 'help yourself', and the proximity to the Isle of Lewis, Leverburgh, and the many beaches to explore, makes this an ideal place for as active or restful a vacation as you would want. We had both, and are so appreciative of all Suzan, Jan and their family envisioned when they built the Fulmar, Gannet and Grandfather's cottages and then offered all of this to travellers from around the world!

  • We stayed in Fulmar Cottage for a week in July and could not have had a better experience. The cottage owners are special people who've lovingly decorated and equipped 'fulmar' and 'gannet' which enjoy surely one of the best views on the entire island. Rays of sunlight could be seen on the horizon at close to midnight. The proximity to stunning white sand/turquoise sea beaches makes these properties better than we could have hoped. We arrived from london in a state of high anxiety and left feeling peaceful and enriched :) London

  • You simply can't do any better on Harris- comfortable, clean, perfect views and the friendliest people you could possibly hope for. The sort of place you need when the weather is socked in but perfectly located for all outdoor activities. When Bart is around he can take you out for fishing, kayaking etc. etc. Suzan ordered crabs and lobsters for us and for which we paid next to nothing and was great for local contacts, organising boat trips etc. One of our best holidays ever and very sorry to leave-Hope Valley

  • We had a wonderful time in (Grandfathers House) a cottage well fitted out and ideally suited to the 2 of us. Our hosts, Jan and Suzan, were very warm, enthusiastic and helpful, providing good advice and even fresh fish! The refurbishing was tasteful and the whole place quite cozy. The cascade of beautiful beaches just a short walk from the door made it a wonderful place to sit and watch the sunset or to start the trek up Caperval for magnificent views of the Outer Hebrides. Excellent.- Zurich

  • My husband and I spent our Honeymoon in Jan & Suzan's Fulmar Cottage. The cottage is wonderful - like a luxurious & romantic wooden cabin. The view is magnificent, and all the furnishings inside are authentic & wonderful. We spent a couple of evenings, just sitting outside the front of the cottage, enjoying the view, and other evenings, we spent cozied up in front of the 'gas' wood-burning stove, enjoying the peace & quiet. Jan & Suzan, and their daughter, Sytske, were the most amazing hosts. They went above & beyond their 'duties', taxi-ing us to nearby restaurants, lending us their golf clubs, offering us the use of bicycles, fishing rods & kayaks, whilst also helping us out with deflated tyres etc! Edinburgh

  • If you like the outdoors, want a huge picture window where you can view Scarista beach from the pure luxury of your accommodation - then this is the place for you.
    Gannet Cottage is beautifully situated in South Harris and very easy to get to from Tarbert. The Cottage itself has a sauna, jacuzzi, steam showers, dish washer and everything else you will need. It is finished to a very high standard. There are five beaches within easy walking through meadows full or flowers with birds singing. I'd defy anyone not to love the place. When you go on holiday you invest both your time and your money and at Gannet Cottage you won't be disappointed. I believe Northton is the best location on the island having driven past most of the other cottages we almost booked. The owners Jan and Suzan Vizzer are non-intrusive but ever helpful. They are genuinely lovely people who want you to have a great holiday. The island has a strong sense of community - something which a lot of mainland UK has lost. The island is relatively easy to explore - but you won't really want to leave Northton because it is such a fantastic place with good walking and beaches on your doorstep. When I go again I'll definitely be staying at Gannet Cottage!-Derby

  • Jan and Suzan have clearly put a huge amount of thought into Gannet cottage and we absolutely loved it. It is a little higher up the hill than most of the croft cottages which gives it a superb view over Northton beach, right across to the hills of North Harris. This has to be one of the best views on the Hebrides and there is a huge picture window from which to enjoy it. A short walk up the hill behind the cottage will also give you views South and West, with St Kilda easily visible on a clear day.The cottage is newly built, has absolutely everything you could need (even has a sauna!) and even in extreme weather kept us very warm and comfortable. We will definitely be back!-London

  • The Outer Hebrides, especially the Isle of Harris, what a beautiful islands, clear clean turquoisy waters, an amazing variety of wildlife. Northton a lovely beach village, we have even seen the golden eagle, majesticly flying over the cottage!! A fishing trip with Bart made us into true fishermen, we caught a bucket full and we have seen many seals sunbathing on the rocks. A once of a lifetime experience was an excursion to St. Kilda. The luxury of the cottage, especially the sauna, ever changing skies from the panoramic window, it was all an unforgettable Hebridean experience!! -Sommelsdijk, the NL

  • We all loved Harris, the beaches are incredible, the golden road, out of this world and the scenery ...I just loved it and felt very lucky to being staying in such a special place.We knew it was not going to be hot but the children loved having wet suits on and nothing stops them and me and my husband were happy watching them chill with our flask of tea!! The first time at Scarista beach it was amazing as we spotted a porpoise and two seals and we had the whole beach to ourselves.
    The view from the cottage is incredible and ever changing and I felt so indulged for the week there. It was really nice being able to walk to the beaches, the sand really is golden and the sea turquoise and there really is hardly anybody there....-Watford